Harris Bokhari OBE, named as Diversity Champion of the Year

Champions of our democracy’ announced at the National Democracy Week Awards

Winners of first ever National Democracy Week Awards announced

Original press release published on 2 July 2018

Today (Monday 2 July), winners of the first ever National Democracy Week Awards were announced at the People’s History Museum in Manchester.

The awards ceremony has been held to mark the 90th anniversary of the 1928 Equal Franchise Act, which gave women equal voting rights and kicks off celebrations for National Democracy Week.

The awards recognise the exceptional work of individuals and organisations that work tirelessly to increase democratic engagement in the UK.

Six winners were awarded titles for the following categories:

Harris Bokhari OBE, Patchwork Foundation – Diversity Champion of the Year:

  • This award is for an individual or organisation that has increased diversity in our democratic process and electoral systems, supporting others to have their say.
  • Harris founded the Patchwork Foundation, which has helped over 40,000 people from diverse communities engage in the democratic process through town-hall events and masterclasses with senior political figures and voting campaigns.

Minister for the Constitution, Chloe Smith said:

The first ever National Democracy Awards are the ideal opportunity to celebrate the champions of our democracy across the country who have displayed pioneering efforts to increase democratic engagement.

The winners of all four awards, and those who were shortlisted, should be proud of what they’ve achieved to improve understanding of our democracy for thousands of young people.